Awards and Honors

The East Bay Chapter and its members have won numerous awards and honors over the years. We have several members who have achieved the level of STC Associate Fellow and STC Fellow.

Society-Level Awards |
Society Honors | Chapter Awards

STC Society-Level Awards

Awards Received by Chapter

Achievement Awards
Recognizes a professional or student chapter’s outstanding accomplishments in achieving the Society’s goals through a wide range of programs and activities.

  • Bronze Community Award (new award names): 2016
  • Excellence Award: 2015, 2014, 2008, 2007, 2005, 2004
  • Merit Award: 2003
Newsletter Competitions
Honors chapter and SIG newsletter producers who strive to achieve STC goals and excel in newsletter publication.

Devil Mountain Views:
Award of Excellence: 2008, 2007, 2005, 2004, 2000, 1999
Award of Merit: 2009, 2002
Best of Show, Most Improved, Distinguished Technical Communication: 2003
Pacesetter Awards
Acknowledges a professional or student chapter’s contributions to the Society’s goals through a single innovative and effective program or activity.

2005 Award
“In proud recognition of the East Bay chapter’s remarkable Literacy Outreach Program; for six years it has garnered praise and support from academe and science researchers for delivering excellent education about our craft to high-school students.”
1999 Award
“For your innovative initiative in education and outreach, for assisting teachers to understand the importance of teaching students how to read and write technical information, and for your evangelism of technical communication as a career.”

Society Honors

STC Fellows

The rank of Fellow is conferred only upon associate fellows who have attained such eminence in the field of technical communication that the board, by a two-thirds vote of all members, deems them worthy of being singled out as one of the select few who have distinguished the Society and the profession.

  • T. R. Girill
  • Judith Herr
  • Richard Mateosian
  • Lori Meyer
  • Patrick Lufkin

STC Associate Fellows

The rank of Associate Fellow is conferred only upon a senior member who has attained distinction in the field of technical communication.

  • Vincent E. Swanson
  • Gwaltney Mountford
  • Joseph M. Humbert

STC Distinguished Chapter Service Awards

The Distinguished Chapter Service Award (DCSA) acknowledges the work of chapter members who provide exemplary service to the Society through their dedication to the chapter and its activities.

  • Lori Meyer, 2016
  • Romy Sinha, 2015
  • Jane Olivera, 2014
  • Lori Cooke, 2013
  • Helen Cheung, 2012
  • Joseph M Humbert, 2011
  • Ken Evans, 2009
  • Ashwini Tharval, 2008
  • T. R. Girill, 2007
  • Janet Bran, 2004
  • Diana W Wilcoxson, 2002
  • Marsha R Workman, 2001
  • May F. McKoon, 2001
  • Lenore P. Weiss, 2000
  • Gwaltney Mountford, 2000
  • Melody Brumis, 1998
  • Judith M. Herr, 1997
  • Patricia Ann Butowick, 1996
  • June S. Schaefer, 1995

EBSTC Chapter Awards

Awards established by our chapter to recognize the contributions of our members

Volunteer of the Year

The Chapter recognizes members for their outstanding contributions to the chapter and to the Society.

  • Joseph M. Humbert, 2007-2008, Treasurer, webweaver, Devil Mountain Views co-managing editor, membership manager
  • May McKoon, College Connection Committee chair
  • Joseph M. Humbert, Treasurer, webweaver
  • Hillary Russak, 2004-2005, V.P. Arrangements
  • Joseph M. Humbert, Treasurer, webweaver
  • Elaine Parrish, Devil Mountain Views copy editor

Technical Insight Award

The Technical Insight Award was established in 2014 to recognize the technical skills of members who have contributed to the success of the chapter and its members.

  • Liz Fraley, 2016
  • Liz Fraley, 2015
  • Jane Olivera & Joseph M. Humbert, 2014

Society-Level Awards | Society Honors |Chapter Awards